Think I’ll spend £230 replacing the bra I just burnt………

Posted on October 25, 2009

1



I’m certainly not the first to comment on this weeks Brewdog news but for anyone that’s missed it they promised us this on Twitter 

“20th of October. Brewdog to make the single most exciting, influential, ground-breaking and audacious move ever in British beer brewing”


What they actually launched was Equity for Punks, an IPO offering Brewdog fans the chance to own a smidgeon of the brewery that will raise funds to build a new brewery. So hardly groundbreaking or life changing but I think that Brewdog should be applauded for their use of Social Media – the Twittersphere was alive with speculation and it has been much commented on since.

I know a little bit about beer PR and I think Brewdog make some great beers so I probably wouldn’t have said much more than a good job well done had I not seen the picture they’ve chosen to use to launch their new venture………



To me this is a perfect example of the sexist way women can be portrayed in beer adverts, and it’s pretty shocking in this day and age!! From a team that claim to be ‘about breaking rules, taking risks, upsetting trends and unsettling institutions but first and foremost, great tasting beer’ to see them objectify women in this way makes me CROSS – surely they could have made their point without using a women in her bra???


I may have mentioned before that I work for The BitterSweet Partnership which was launched because the beer industry has ignored women for far too long. We know that lots of women already love beer, but our research showed that almost 8 out of 10 women (77%) say they seldom or never drink it.

42% of women polled said changing beer advertising is one of the biggest things that could be done to make it more appealing to them, looking at something like this makes it obvious it’s a change that can’t come soon enough……….

Posted in: Uncategorized