Just stepped out of a beer salon………..

Posted on January 7, 2010

6


My foray into the world of beer beauty products continues and today the lovely people at Lush sent me a bottle of Cynthia Sylvia Stout Shampoo which promises to give weight shine and gloss to lifeless hair.
Sounds good to me, whilst I don’t have lifeless hair I do have a problem with frizz (well more afro) in damp conditions so this could be just the thing for me. Added to which beer is supposed to be good for the hair for the following reasons…….
  • Beer contains protein which is good for strengthening hair

  • Beer has a low pH which can tighten the cuticles and make your hair shiny.

  • Beer contains herbs known as hops which are natural astringents that have beneficial tightening effect on the scalp.

  • Beer contains alcohol which is good for removing dirt and grease from hair.

I’m not sure how true this is, my hunch is that there isn’t enough protein, hops or alcohol in beer to make much of a difference and that shampoo manufacturers add these things (or chemical variants thereof) at a significantly greater level.
So to the shampoo – I have to say I don’t normally use any Lush products, I’ve always felt that you outgrow their bright colours and strong fruit smells at the same time as you put the lid on your last bottle of Bodyshop Dewberry perfume and the packaging is a bit garish for a lady of my “24” years.
It is stout coloured but definitely not stout smelling, in fact it smells divine. A mixture of liquorice and those Swiss herbal lemon sweets you only find in health food shops or service stations on the Autoroute (if anyone can remember what they’re called let me know as I’ve been racking my brains all day) and a hint of Sandalwood. It’s also got a touch of sweetness I can’t quite identify that stops it being to masculine.
It smells delicious – if anyone could brew a beer that smells this good and tastes as good as it smells I would buy it by the (responsible) bucket load.
You get plenty of bubbles and it makes your hair feel squeaky clean, the mix of Sndalwood and citrus fruit makes it smell Alpine fresh (in a good way, think mountains and skiing not those little trees you hang in your car) I’m not sure how much of it comes from the beer itself but as a shampoo it’s lovely and I’d buy it again

P.S. the sweets are Ricola., thanks to Barm for helping me out!!!

