The original but not the best………………….

Posted on January 18, 2010

0


Another night of rubbish on the television so another chance for me to try out a beer shampoo. This time Original Linco Beer Shampoo & Conditioner, a two in one that claims to be “specially developed with special hops” to give extra body and shine.
Strangely it only seems to be available to buy in sachets and, according to Dennis The Chemist , it’s Catherine Zeta Jones’ favourite shampoo. Well, if it’s good enough for her then I’m prepared to give it a go.
Admittedly I’m new to the world of beer shampoo but I have used plenty of shampoos before and yet I don’t think I’ve ever come across one that looks and smells like this. It has an oily sheen to it and feels a lot like a big handful of Swarfega. And the smell, ewwwww. Being a beer shampoo that claims to be enriched with natural ingredients I expected it to smell of natural ingredients like the Lush shampoo did but there is nothing natural about this. It smells like an 80’s hairdressers, a mixture of perm solution, Elnett and bleach, it certainly doesn’t smell like I’m doing my hair any good.
But I slap it on anyway and blimey, does it bubble. If only I had the photographic capability to take a snap whilst in the shower whilst protecting both my camera and my dignity you might have laughed as hard as Jorge, apparently I looked like Jamie Afro off of X Factor (the cultural reference of a 9 year old) and I’m further convinced there is no natural ingredients in this one if the foot high bubbles are anything to go by.
But, the important question, does it live up to its claims, is my hair clean and shiny with no need for a separate conditioner? Errrrrr, no. My hair is dry and unmanageable and I have a distinct look of Wurzel Gummidge. I’m afraid to try and brush it in case I break my brush and pieces are forever lost in the birds nest that is now my hair.
Contrary to it’s claims, I did need a separate conditioner and a separate shampoo and a separate straightening balm before my hair started to smell and feel anything like normal.
So there’s no way I’ll be using this shampoo again but I have discovered another one, a Bier Shampoo from Pure Nature that’s winging it’s way to me. Will make sure my hair doesn’t fall out from this one and then give it a go!
Posted in: beer shampoo