Boys and butterflies……………

Posted on February 7, 2010

4


When I have a night out with the girls there’s nothing I like more than lounging about on pink scatter cushions, glass of chardonnay in hand whilst gossiping about boys and butterflies and how to be the perfect housewife but finding the right pub to go to is often so tricky. Lucky for little ol’ me Greene King are set to come to the rescue by giving their pubs a ‘Sex and The City’ makeover  and introducing free toiletries, great big glasses of wine and complimentary copies of Cosmo.
Please – could this sexist tripe be any more patronizing?? I am a firm believer that pubs need to do a lot more to be a comfortable environment for a lot of women and over on my Good Pub Guide Blog have suggested a lot of simple changes that would make the drinking environment better for women from offering table service to free wifi but hot pink toilets and free Heat Magazine………..seriously???
I shouldn’t be too hard on Greene King, they have at least, rightly identified the importance of making pubs more attractive to women. In this latest initiative they are targeting a group of ladies they call SWAGs – sassy, wise and grown up ladies who are 35+ and  have money burning a hole in their pockets it seems. Now I’m a little way off 35 so you could argue that maybe I’m not target market but somehow when I’m asked what I want to do for my 35th birthday going to the ‘Lippy & Eyeliner‘ is not going to be top of my list!!
Whilst they should be applauded for trying to appeal more to women their current ideas sound like the sort that were suggested by men, amid lots of sniggers, when they thought no one from HR was listening. I think Claire Eyles from The George Inn in Daventry, who is similarly sceptical,  sums it up well, 

“The issue of attracting more women to public houses is one that most pub companies have tried to address, but the type of lady we are attracting is not overly concerned as to whether she can get a 250ml serving of wine, or read a glossy magazine.

It is purely and simply because Chris and I have created the right atmosphere that makes those females feel comfortable in coming in for that evening”

Personally I would much rather spend a night with Claire or in any pub that focusses on offering women great service and quality rather than trying to cash in on short term gimics!
Posted in: beer and women, Pubs