Beer Mixology – it must be Friday

Posted on May 11, 2012

1


Trendsetter that I am I’ve long been a fan of beer cocktails, with the able assistance of Jez “Mixologist at the Dial“, and we were at it long before Will Hawkes made them craft by covering  in his excellent column.

It’s fair to say that beer cocktails divide opinion amongst beer fans, something I’ve never really understood – relax, beer is meant to be enjoyed. Some people that get that more than anyone are the guys over at BeerMixology who long ago recognised that a lager with lemonade top doesn’t count as a cocktail and have been mixing up a storm ever since.

In their own words…

In its most basic definition, beer mixology is the art or skill of crafting and mixing cocktails that use beer as an ingredient.

Some purists in the beer industry might argue that beer is, in itself, a perfectly crafted cocktail of barley, hops, yeast, water, and potentially other additives. Conversely, some mixology purists might argue that flavor profile of beer is not ideal and does not, in fact, have chemistry with spirits.

Although neither views are wrong and everyone is entitled to their own opinions, our goal here at Beer Mixology is to explore the relationship between beer and spirits and share our findings and experiments with the world!

I already didn’t need any encouragement to join their side and then I found a variation on an Old Fashioned, The Old Dutchman. That, my friends,  is a Gin & IPA cocktail. GIN AND IPA. Oh me, oh my – all I need is chocolate sprinkles and that is all of my favourite things at once. Created by mixologist Dennis Schafer it looks like it could be some work to the amateur creating the syrup but I am prepared to give it a go – I’m selfless like that.

The Old Dutchman
2 oz Genever
1/2-3/4 oz IPA Syrup
Dash of Lemon Bitters
Lemon Twist

To make the syrup:
16 oz beer
1 cup Sugar
Reduce beer by about half using medium heat. Do not allow beer to boil
Remove from heat, add sugar and stir until completely dissolved.
Cool, and fine strain to remove the beer head.
Syrup should be stored cool and consumed within a week. If you are wanting it to last longer, add 8oz Vodka and turn it into a beer liqueur.

Go take a look at their very well done website – you can search by beer style or by spirit, get mixing and come back and tell me your favourite.

Proost!!

